Do Something Different #4: Auditioning With an Italian Opera Song

‘Bout two weeks ago, I auditioned for my school’s talent show with the Italian Opera song “Nessun Dorma“.  It’s written for the part of a male tenor singing to a sleeping princess about how he shall win despite everything telling him he won’t (I’m planing on changing the lyrics so that I say “my son” or “prince” instead of “princess”).  I’ve yet to hear the results and wish I knew them sooner so I wouldn’t have to worry about whether or not I’ll sing for the show in March.  I’ll keep you posted.

I auditioned once before–in 9th grade, I believe.  But I used a jazz number sung by Natalie King Cole that came from the “commercial failure”, “Cats Don’t Dance” (about the wonderful movie here, song I auditioned years ago with here.)

I know that for some people, “commercial failures” tend to automatically be categorized as “failures” across the board.  “Cats Don’t Dance” wasn’t.  Rotten Tomatoes might give it a 69 percent, and you’re friend might tell you it was boring.  But when it comes down to it, it’s about how you felt toward the movie at the end of the day.  It was one of my favorite movies of my childhood, and I think it should have made more money that it got.  People can disagree with me all they want; they have a right to.

I just hope nobody forgets that I have a right to disagree with them too.

 

 

I'd love to hear from you!

