Do Something Different #22: NaPoWriMo, Day 1: “She Walks In Beauty”

Unlike NaNoWriMo which I had months to plan, I just learned about NaPoWriMo today and think I will give it a shot.  I don’t consider myself much of a poet, but then again, I didn’t consider myself much of a singer or writer until I actually started doing it frequently.  So perhaps this shall make me think otherwise.

Like the fiction writer I am by default, I will try to go for a theme or some sort of storyline.  As of write now, the idea or motif I wish to use is two lovers ending each other poems.  I’ll be using prompts from the NaPoWriMo website or ideas that I happen to come up on my own.

I will therefore be using the beginning line of “She Walks in Beauty” by Lord Byron (George Gordon) as directed by the NaPoWriMo website.  Here we go!

She walks in beauty, like the night

I saw her for the first time

in that little red dress of hers

studded with rubies

and laced like a corset in the back.

A cigarette holder resting between her fingers,

the smoke enveloped her body

in ways that I could have only dreamed of doing.

I couldn’t even if she burned me down to ash

and let me roam about the world as a burnt-out spirit,

tired of me and her ways.

And so I asked this elegant queen of mine

as we walked to the theater,

“Is red your favorite color?”

No,she replies. “It just feels like love.”

Creative Commons License
“She Walks In Beauty” by Kaleiyah-P is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at http://www.poetryfoundation.org/poem/173100.

2 thoughts on “Do Something Different #22: NaPoWriMo, Day 1: “She Walks In Beauty”

  1. Beautiful work indeed!

    I am also doing NaPoWriMo. This is my first year participating and it has been a blast so far!

    I wrote my first poem for the event last night.

    I am a new Poet and Writer,and blogger but somehow I managed to compose 4 poems I am proud of.

    NaPoWrimo is such a great way to connect and engage with like minded people and to share and explore everyone’s unique writing style and enjoy there Poems!

    Can’t wait to read your next one today!

    ~Shane

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for your comment! I’m glad you liked it :D!

      I hope I can keep up with NaPoWriMo, but I’ll do my best.

      You’ll do great in the even as a new writer. You have me and whole community of writers at your back cheering you on, so don’t give up 🙂

      Like

I'd love to hear from you!

