Revisiting Elizabeth Lyon and Ten-Year-Old Me

According to my copy of Elizabeth Lyon’s A Writer’s Guide to Fiction, the book was published in June 2004.  Ten years ago.  When I was ten.  I don’t remember much of it, and I’ve decided that at some point I’m going to re-read it, and give it a solid, honest review.

Another reason I want to re-read this book is because my idea of writing when I was ten years old is completely different from what I think writing is now.

But that also leads me to wonder…

How much have I changed in those ten years? As a writer and a person?

I certainly thought writing was something one did for fun and happened to make money off of it.  And too some extent, I still think writing is fun.  I knew that you needed characters and dialogue and description and the basic things.  But I didn’t understand how they functioned and why they functioned so well in some places.

And maybe when I was ten, because I had a different idea of what a writer was supposed to be, I didn’t pick up the things in the book as I should have.  I mean, the only thing I remember is how Lyon used The Wizard of Oz to explain a few concepts.  How can I base a judgment off that? That’s not fair of me.  Especially when now I’m more receptive to the information.

I think that’s what separates the childhood writer and the adult writer: knowledge.  Creativity is still there, I believe.  But it’s knowledge and experience and confidence that really gives writers that “oomph”.

What about you? What were you like as a younger writer in the single digit years, or as a teenager, when others opinions started to affect you?

I'd love to hear from you!

