Moved Into My Dorm, and It Still Feels Like Summer

As of right now, I’ve officially moved into my new college dorm.  The floor plan is exactly like the one that I had last year, and I’m in the same exact style of room of the floor plan I had last year, too (only I’m on the other side of the room this time).  I’ll be starting my third year of college as an English major.

And yet… it still feels like summer.

I suppose this is normal.  This summer was quite possibly the longest I’d ever had.  Normally, my classes would have started by now, but this year, they don’t start until Thursday of this week—in October.

But looking toward this quarter, which I have all mapped out, I am taking on many responsibilities.  Four upper division classes, being the president of my creative writing club, being an editor for my school’s undergraduate literary magazine, all the mind-boggling amounts of reading I have to do…

On one level, I wonder, “My dear, what were you thinking? Yes, this is your junior year and all.  You’re expected to do more and take on more responsibility as your intellect grows.  But really? All this?”

But to that, I respond, “Yes.  All that.  And a bag of chips.  Because this year and the next years to come, I’m going to try and focus on, ‘What if I succeed?'”

At many point in our lives, we start to think, “What if I fail?” And the gears come to a screeching halt.

But if we ask, “What if we succeed?”

Then…

Then that’s when things get awesome.

Because in all honesty, if you’re a good person, have a decent amount of integrity, and can be held accountable for your actions, then most likely, you won’t fail.   And if you do fail, you’ll learn to grow.

So, yes.  This year is busy.  But if I stay true to myself, if I keep aiming for the light at the end of the tunnel instead of falling victim to the darkness that surrounds it, I think I can handle it.

I think I can make this Fall Quarter feel as good and pleasant as summer if I just find the light in all the tunnels.

6 thoughts on “Moved Into My Dorm, and It Still Feels Like Summer

  1. Great post about the importance of perspective. It’s always a little intimidating when you’re standing on the cusp of a crazy busy time of life, but I love what you said: “What if I succeed?” A question I should ask more often.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m beginning to find that positive affirmations and positive self talk is really helping me transition through life and become a better person. It might seem hokey and forced at first, but perspective really does matter—in writing and in life.

      Thank you for reading and commenting on my post 🙂 I’m glad you liked it.

      Like

    1. I’m ready for it to be over and it’s only the first week of classes (gah!) But I’m glad I’m looking at this post, and reminding myself to persevere 🙂

      Thank you for commenting and tagging me 😀 ! I’ll try to get on it when time allows.

      Like

    1. Thanks for commenting and sharing your post 🙂 I’m glad you liked mine.

      I’ve yet to live in any apartments, as you’ve written about, but it’ll be interesting once I do. Most likely, it’ll be when I apply to grad school.

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

