The Social Media Tag

Once again, I’ve been tagged by the lovely Megan. And once again, I’m back! (But I don’t know how long I’ll be here.  Gotta study for school, you know.  Preposterous, right?)

Anyway, you guys are going to hear a little bit about the novel that I keep mentioning in some of my posts 🙂 .  Of course, some of the details aren’t completely fixed yet, because it’s not finished, so you’ll get to see some behind-the-scenes, prototypical stuff to get excited about!

Here are the rules: copy down and answer the questions below (about your novel or story or anything along that line), then tag five of your writer friends to do it as well.

Twitter: Describe your plot in 140 characters or less.

*weeps* THIS ONE WAS SO HAAARRDDD! ;__; Because characters aren’t, like, words, but actual letters and spaces and punctuation and aggghhhh!

Anyway…

In a world of constant racial segregation, one half-breed warrior seeks the meaning of beauty, self-love, and acceptance in a revived snake god’s reign of terror.

There.  Hardest sentence ever.  But good practice.  If I ever decide to get Twitter, which will probably happen, because many authors have Twitter, 140 characters or nothing.

Facebook: With the parents/grandparents flooding this site, who is your oldest character?

Some of the characters I plan to include in this story are…deities, which would mean that they’re old.  Super old.

I suppose the oldest would be Apep/Apophis, the former Egyptian god of chaos and darkness, who is far older in comparison to the gods of Aei, where the story takes place.  He would be… hundreds of thousands, if not, millions of years old by the time Aei is even conceived.

Instagram: What does one of your characters look like? #selfie (find the closest picture you can!)

Karetu
Karetu, the main character (Actress: Denise Vasi)

Karetu is the “half-breed warrior” in the Twitter description, and the main character 😀 ! She is the sacrilegious product of miscegenation between a Sozeian woman and a Naknoi man.  I only had one picture on my hard drive, and so I went looking for more, when lo and behold, the pictures I kept finding were of Denise Vasi, the same actress as the one in the picture on my drive.  I didn’t know her name until now, which is great, because I can collect even more pictures 🙂 .

WordPress: Designing your theme is the funnest part, so how would/did you design your book cover?

I’ve always had this image in my head of Karetu in a desert, looking stoically over her shoulder as she holds the reins of her large cyan telyorr bird.  Like she’s about to take off and never see her home again.  And then the title would be in gold letters to contrast the blue sky above and the Sozeian kingdom in the distance. When I meet the illustrator I decide to commission for the cover and get better at drawing, I’ll be sure to give them a rough sketch.

Tumblr: Naming your blog is so difficult! What did you name your book?

Karetu.  (No, not the place in New Zealand).  That’s been the name of the book for awhile, and sometimes I’ve debated on changing it, because what I’m planning has a lot more than just Karetu’s journey in it.  In the first draft, it was very Karetu-heavy, but now I think it’s becoming more 3rd-person omniscient.

Spring.me: Get your weirdest questions answered. Ask your main character one weird question, and have that character answer.

Me: If butterflies could talk, what would they say?

Karetu: Rest.  Always take the time to rest.  While there is time for travel and play and fun and exploration, all that beating of your wings will take a lot out of you.

Pandora/Spotify: What kind of music are you playing whilst writing? If you don’t listen to music, what do you think your main character would listen to?

Mmm… I do listen to music when I write, especially when I have a specific mood I want to keep throughout the writing of a scene or chapter.  But it varies.  Sometimes I’ll listen to video game music, like Pokemon Black/White’s “Relic Castle“.  Another time, I might listen to this rendition of an ancient Egyptian love song.

Anything Egyptian, Arabic, Indian, or even Native American gets me in the mood to write this story, but primarily Egyptian things, because Egypt was so big in my childhood, and part of Karetu lends itself to that.  This story is my answer to how much time Egyptian mythology and magic has captured my attention to this day.

Myspace: All good things must come to an end! What is one book idea that you were really into, but lost interest in?

I have so many ideas I lose interest in that I keep a folder for them in case I want to get back to them.  I feel bad abandoning my ideas, even if they’re really…amateur or more like fanfiction.

One of them was “Guardian of the Torii,” which I got so disinterested (or rather, unmotivated) that I think I might have deleted the story file for it.  Inspired by my time playing Okami, the premise was that the main Kamiko’s mother died as the result of a car accident on the way to the hospital to give birth to her.  All she left behind for Kakimo was a bracelet of red and white beads, and somewhere down the line, I imagined Kaimiko travelling around the world in search of the gods of the Chinese zodiac, and that torii gates had guardian birds resting inside them to guide her along her quest and restore her spiritual energy.  If I were to pick up the idea again, I would probably focus more on the torii gates and less on the zodiac, because I feel like the zodiac’s been done too many times.

Now I tag…

1. TheGumiho

2. Mishka Jenkins

3. Jeyna Grace

4. Tamara Phillips

5. Anybody else who wants to do it.

Thanks again for the tag! This was fun 🙂

I'd love to hear from you!

