The Last Quarter: Study Abroad in Japan Countdown

Soot balls from Spirited Away at the Ghibli Museum in Mitaka, 2010, taken by myself
Soot balls from Spirited Away at the Ghibli Museum in Mitaka, 2010, taken by myself

If you haven’t noticed by the countdown on the right of my blog, I’m studying abroad and hopefully finishing the last quarter of my undergraduate studies in Mitaka, Tokyo, Japan.

This won’t be my first time in Japan.  I was there for the last week of June and first week of July in 2010 with my high school Japanese teacher and couple of other classmates.  And while being there for two weeks was incredibly fun, it was, I admit, a bit stressful.  We stayed in Tokyo for a week, and by the next week, we were on the move every day, sightseeing and squeezing in as many things as we can.

This time, I’ll not only be a student there.

I’ll be an adult.  And I’ll be there for three months.

Studying abroad has always been on my academic bucket list, so to speak.  And now that I’m actually getting to do it, an amalgam of emotions has formed.  Stress, joy, fear, excitement, anxiety, determination—The whole process started almost a year ago.  After a whirlwind of getting papers together and pre-departure things…

I finally feel calm.

And that’s saying something.  I would think that I would be in panic mode, given my personality.

And, who knows, maybe I’ll feel panicky again.  And that’s okay.  This event is important.  I’ll allow for that possibility.

But if that does happen, I’ll be sure to set things straight.  As for right now, I feel like I have things under control, and am looking forward to seeing beautiful Japan again.

I can’t wait to meet the new friends I could gain, and the teachers that I will have.  I can’t wait to see what inspires me to write over there.  I can’t wait to get completely adjusted to the timezone this time (I definitely didn’t the first trip).  I can’t wait to see Akihabara in all its electronic goods glory.  I can’t wait to master the intricate train system and try more sushi and udon at every restaurant I can.  I can’t wait to make my Japanese language skills stronger.

I can’t wait for adventure.

2 thoughts on “The Last Quarter: Study Abroad in Japan Countdown

I'd love to hear from you!

