3 Days, 3 Quotes (#3)

 

Thank you, Megan of Invisible World, for nominating me for this challenge.  In honor of my study abroad in Japan, I shall post quotes relating to Japanese culture in some ways, via authors, art, etc.

Here’s the final quote.

さるも木から落ちる。

Even monkeys fall from trees.

This is my favorite Japanese proverb ever.  It was one of the first ones I ever learned while taking Japanese language classes, and it resets my perspective on life from negative to neutral.

We tend to think monkeys are perfect creatures, swinging from tree branch to tree branch.  BUt when one falls from the trees, we’re surprised.

Why?

Because the myth, we discover, isn’t the truth.

Nobody is perfect.  Not monkeys.  Not humanity.

Not me.

Not you.

We all make mistakes at some point, even those we believe are incredible flawless masters.

 

I also nominate:

A Word About Me

Love and Olives

Sheila Sea

Here are the rules.

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Post a quote for three consecutive days (one quote per day).
  3. Nominate three bloggers each day.

I hope you all have fun!

I'd love to hear from you!

