Reflections Abroad: Sep.27-Oct. 4

IMG_20151004_135617414

The nice thing about studying abroad in Japan is that I can buy cool things like this album right here.  This is the jazz arrangement album of one of my favorite video games of all time, Okami, where eleven tracks are given jazz genre treatments.

They all sound smooth.

It’s really a shame that these special edition albums aren’t sold in the United States, and that there are so many barriers for global commerce, like import taxes and region locking for video game systems.  If the global market was less restrictive, I’d buy everything in sight.

Exaggerating, of course.  Got to tend my wallet.

September 27, 2015: Super Moons

Since I live in Japan, I am 16 hours ahead of my Pacific Ocean friends and family.  So I got to see the Super Moon ahead of everyone else, heh.

I’d seen lunar eclipses before, but this one was very spooky.  There was a lot of cloud cover, so it was hard to see.  But when it would appear, it would still be hidden behind some clouds, peering out at the rest of the world.

Evil Super Moon, that thing was.

September 28, 2015: Typical Monday

Not much happened that Monday other than my English class.  Which went fine.

September 29, 2015: My Conversation Partner

On Tuesday, I met my newest Japanese conversation partner, who I shall call T.  He likes soccer and is a first year at the university I am attending.  I get to practice Japanese, and help him with English, so it’s a win-win.

September 30, 2015: The SEALDs Founder

My Japanese sociology class is getting better and better.

We are currently studying social movements in Japan, and one of them is a group called SEALDs.  They are currently protesting Prime Minister Abe’s allegedly backdoor revision of Article 9 in Japan’s consitution, which stipulates what Japan can do in terms of self-defense, military, and war time.

My professor managed to snag one of the founders of SEALDs, who is a student at the university I’m attending, and bring him to class.

Best professor ever, am I right?  We get to learn about SEALDs and Japanese society from one of the organization leaders himself.

By far, my favorite class this year.

October 1, 2015: Twelfth Night Film

On Thursday, in my English class, we began watching a film adaptation of Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night.

You can watch the trailer here. While I admit I’m not a fan of the trailer, as it is a bit cheesy, the plot is quite complicated and funny.  So I suppose the cheesiness is warranted.

We didn’t finish watching the whole film, but we will this coming week.

October 2, 2015: University Museum

After taking our scheduled interview test for the midterm examination, our Japanese language teachers took us to the university museum on campus.  Inside were various Jomon period relics and ukiyo-e prints.

This one is called “Moonlight and Rain at Gohonmatsu.”

Moonlight and Rain at Gohonmatsu

I really like ukiyo-e prints, but I’m used to many of them having lots of bright colors.  This one is dark and beautiful, like it’s out of a modern comic book with its not-quite blacks and contrasting lights and darks.  I wouldn’t be surprised if modern comics were influenced by this.

 

October 3, 2015: Chilling and Groceries

This Saturday was rather chill.  I went to pick up some groceries with my roommate, but I didn’t go out much.  I did some reading, watched some television, played some Monster Hunter 4.

Everyone needs their chill days now and then.

October 4, 2015: Amazon Japan

If you’re ever in Japan, using Amazon Japan is nice.  The site can be converted to English via the website itself, and it’s just like using Amazon in United States.  Not a whole lot is different.

I ordered my jazz album and hair conditioner on Friday, and it came on Sunday via their standard service.  That’s fast.

Oh, yes! I almost forgot.  I bought Japanese natural hair conditioner.

But you’re going to have to wait to hear about that until next week.

My hair’s history could almost be a novel itself.

2 thoughts on “Reflections Abroad: Sep.27-Oct. 4

I'd love to hear from you!

