Review: Crafting Unforgettable Characters by K. M. Weiland

Crafting Unforgettable CharactersCrafting Unforgettable Characters by K.M. Weiland
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Crafting Unforgettable Characters by K. M. Weiland is a free e-book that I’m glad I read. It reminded me what a good character is made of during a much needed time in writing the rough draft of my novel. It describes itself as “an introduction to bringing your characters to life.” That said, it’s short. So don’t expect Weiland to go into major detail.

Instead, you can expect a good number of chapters on various techniques for bringing your character to life: the classic character sheet, the character interview, the dichotomy technique, the doing away of likability, etc.

Now, for the real question: Is this a good character guide?


Yes. Out of most of the character guides I’ve read, this one is a good one, and contains many familiar tips I’ve seen in other books neatly packaged into a short e-book. K. M. Weiland’s done her research. She knows what she’s talking about.

So if that’s you’re kind of deal, get it over at www.helpingwritersbecomeauthors.com. It’s free.

However, this would not be the only guide on character I would get. In order to truly understand character, one should study intensively. I would not call this book an “introduction” to helping bring my characters to life, as that would get into the nitty-gritty of how characters are formed in fiction and rationalized for the writer and the reader. In this way, I don’t consider it an introduction, but I consider it a very good tip book for the value.

View all my reviews

I'd love to hear from you!

