Birthday Surprises: Of Avatars and Vicissitudes

birthday-cake-380178
Courtesy of cbaquiran @ pixabay.com

Thought I was done posting for this week, didja ;D ? Nope. I’m back again!

Because today, February 11, is my birthday.

And I know that it’s considered traditional to give birthday presents to the birthday girl, but I’m going to flip things around a little bit.

A Birthday Request From Me to You

Courtesy of pexels on pixabay.com
Courtesy of pexels on pixabay.com

My very good friend, Destine Williams — whom you might know as TheGumiho777 from her guest post on this blog in October of last year, recently published her first novel, Vicissitude: Lost Earth, and I couldn’t be prouder of her.

I can personally attest to spending many world-building brainstorming sessions with her, watching the story transform over its several incarnations, and know just how dedicated Destine Williams is to her craft. In that sense, I’m very honored to have been a kind of literary doula/midwife for her precious literary work.

So, yes. I am biased in many ways toward this book. But please don’t let this bias of mine negatively effect you. Because here’s the thing: You know how somewhere in the world, there will always be someone that’s better than you?

Well… Destine Williams is that person for me. She is my inspiration, my teacher, and one of my greatest friends.

If you support me and like what I do, then I believe there’s a very good chance you will enjoy what she does. If you enjoy mature fantasy & sci-fi and/or happen to be interested in assassin organizations, blackmail, genetic engineering, East Asian Mythology, fictional Earths, foxes, demons, intricate use of point of view, Zen philosophy, or any combination thereof, please consider buying a copy and leaving a review on Amazon or Goodreads. If you yourself might not be interested, but you likely know someone that would be, please be sure to pass on the book to them. And even if you might not want to do any of that — maybe music is more your deal, check out the themed soundtracks for the Vicissitude series on her SoundCloud page.

Speaking of writing…

A Gift From Me to You

It’s hard to believe that I’ve been blogging for five years anonymously.

Yes, I’m Kaleiyah-P. And as far as I know, I’ll always be Kaleiyah-P in some form. From the first day I took on that moniker on deviantART, it’s sort of grown on me. And more or less, I’ve grown into that persona as well.

Unbelievably, 180 of you WordPress followers (plus the hundreds I secretly share to my Facebook page and sixty-or-so on Twitter) have stuck with me under a pseudonym and without even the smallest hint of what I look like. Some of you, since the beginning, have trusted me and listened to me without any of that. Heck, some of you might not have even known I was a woman (though… the, erm… pink and black might have given that away. No judgment if you didn’t know).

But still. That’s incredible. That is an incredible act of humanity, and I can’t thank you enough for your support these past five years.

Which is why, as my gift to you, I’ve decided to update my Gravatar to a more… human-ish picture of me.

myavatar-3
Cartoon version of myself, via http://www.cartoonify.de

Yeah, I know it’s a cartoon, but look at it 😀 ! Ain’t it adorable? I wish the avatar creator had more features on it, like places to put beauty marks/moles and stuff, but otherwise, I think it’s super cute!

And yes… I admit it. I’m not quite ready to reveal my actual face or my real name to you guys just yet (especially since I might very well be starting a professional life in Japan). And in all respects, there are plenty of successful artists and writers and bloggers out there who don’t reveal their face at all. Some avatars I see around depict calm scenery, things they’ve drawn, and what have you. So, if you’re a blogger or writer out there, don’t feel pressured to reveal your face if you don’t want to. You can do it on your own terms, or never at all. It’s up to you.

And to some extent (okay, I’m saying “And” a lot, but hear me out), I love visual art. I watch anime all the time. I appreciate animated films. Art is who I am. So… in a weird abstract way, this avatar fits me right now.

Tell you what: When I manage to publish some fiction that I’ll get paid for, I might still go by a pseudonym (leaning towards initials and last name, not Kaleiyah), but I think I’ll be more comfortable showing my face, then. How’s that sound?

In the meantime, I hope you enjoy this avatar of me instead of Japanese food, a sunset view, and a hibiscus flower (yes, all of these pictures were past Gravatars, believe it or not).

Alright, Time to Party.

That’s all from me! Time for me to go out and celebrate my birthday.

Toodles!

I'd love to hear from you!

