Monday Musings: Killing the Taboo Table

silence-2054838_1920.jpg
Courtesy of geralt @ pixabay.com

As some of you might know, I have a second blog called the Taboo Table. If you don’t know it, that’s fine.

Because on April 5th, I’m going to wipe it off the face of the Internet.

Um, Okay. But Why, Though?

On August 17, 2014, I wrote about an encounter with a man on the bus I was riding. His compliment was meant to ease my suspicions of him, but it only made me even more suspicious.

It also kicked my feminism into overdrive and made me start another blog.

I started another blog so that I could post what I think about politics, gender, and mental health on a separate, more welcoming forum, and called it “The Taboo Table.” All the taboo topics you weren’t supposed to talk about got talked about over there.

But it hit me that by sliding taboo topics over to another venue, I wasn’t doing any groundbreaking stuff. I was posting what I thought, but I was hiding it.

And I don’t want to hide anymore.

The Real Me

For now, I’m still going to use a pseudonym and a cartoon-y picture. But as I evolve and grow and hustle, I want to be more open with you all about my experiences. I want you to know not only what I think and feel about writing, but what I think and feel about the rest of the world and what’s going on.

Don’t worry. I’m not going to make things all super-political and radical and whatnot. That’s not what I mean.

But if I think something is relevant, I’ll tell you. And I’ll tell you on this blog, not another one. I admit that I do a lot of hiding, and gradually, I want to do as little hiding as possible.

But to do that, I have to stop bad habits and create better ones going forward.

But yeah, for those of you who follow the other blog, I’m sorry 😦 . I recommend following this one instead.

Anyway, that’s it from me. See you next post — a Writing Wednesday post!

I'd love to hear from you!

