Flash Fiction Friday: Lady in Blue

Courtesy of betsisman @ pixabay.com

The blue chair sits beside the windowsill because I want it to be there. I like to stare out the window at the blue sky, my blue Convertible, and the blue neighbors jealous of my blue Convertible. I like sipping my blue tea in my porcelain cup with the beautiful blue rim and gold trimming the edge. I like sprinkling my blue sugar crystals inside my tea and watching them dissolve like all my cares and all my husbands.

What?

You thought I said husbands?

No, no. I have no idea what you’re talking about. I’ve never been married in my life. The thought of being married makes me absolutely blue. It makes me think about my parents and how unhappy they were, shouting at each other all the time and yelling at each other until they were blue in the face. I can’t stand that — No, not at all.


Hey there, everybody. Hope you had a good week.

This week’s Flash Fiction piece was born out of an exercises I did from Steering the Craft by Ursula K. Le Guin. Repetition and alliteration have always been my favorite literary devices, and this exercise made that even clearer for me. I recommend the book to anyone who is looking to take their writing to the next level.

If you found this piece entertaining or inspiring, please consider supporting me with a cup of coffee or any-size contribution you see fit. 

And as always, see you next post.

I'd love to hear from you!

