Surprise Saturday: The Starlight Blogger Award

The design for the STARLIGHT Bloggers Award has been created from YesterdayAfter is a Copyright image you cannot alter or change it in any way just pass it to others that deserve this award. Copyright 2015 © YesterdayAfter.com — Design by Carolina Russo.

Hey, everybody! How are your summers going?

I just wanted to check in and let you guys know that I’ve been given a very special award by Megan over at Invisible World called the Starlight Blogger Award. The Starlight Blogger is given by bloggers to those who “truly touch your soul with their work, the ones that are the light for you.” That means quite a lot, so thank you, Megan. I’m glad that I inspire you 🙂 . Right back at you.

Now, ready for the fun stuff?

Caroline Russo’s Questions

1. If you describe or picture your inner soul, how would you describe it?

Like Megan, I like to picture my inner soul as a kid with a huge imagination playing dress up. But more specifically, she’d be wearing a pink dress and a tiara because she’s a princess that isn’t afraid of anything and uses her five muses *wink* to banish doubt from her mind at every turn.

2. What are you working on right now?

I’m still working on that darned first draft of my novel and/or trilogy KARETU. I mean, it’s technically not a first draft — just a first draft of a new version of the storyline. I got 120,000 words in before throwing up my hands and going, “You know what? I can’t pants this. I’ve got to plot this. There are way too many characters for me to make sure everyone is where they’re supposed to be.”

So, right now, I’m creating plot points based on Structuring Your Novel by K. M. Weiland, fleshing out character charts for the POV characters and possibly other major characters, and then using Aeon Timeline to visualize events and make sure that there are no incongruities. If there’s anything I’m learning, it’s that I should be stubborn on vision and flexible on details. Also that starting over is not a sign of failure. It’s a new beginning.

On the other hand, I’m waiting with bated breath for the results of a Scribophile contest I entered. I’m also wondering what i could work on next in the meantime for critique. Maybe one of my old creative writing pieces from a past class?

3. What is your creative dream project?

Getting KARETU published — the entire story I have in mind, not just one book in a possible trilogy — is my creative dream project right now. It is the most complex, daring thing I’ve ever tried to create. And, to be honest, even with all the frustration and me pulling my hair out, I’m amazed at how persistent and dedicated I’ve been with it. I mean, I came up with the concept for the character of Karetu in fifth grade — almost eleven or twelve years ago. Since then, a lot has happened towards its development. I finally did a NaNoWriMo draft for it in 2012; I decided that I should make an original soundtrack for it last year; and just recently, I decided I wanted to make conlangs for the two main cultures in the book.

Like…

This project is huge. It’s the hugest thing I’ve ever done, and it’s tapping into nearly all of my creative outlets right now. I really don’t want it to take another ten years to incubate, and I don’t think it will. But I wouldn’t be surprised if it does. I wonder if this is how J. R. R. Tolkien felt when he was trying to write The Lord of the Rings.

Probably. If so, I can definitely relate.

Megan’s Questions

1. What activities or places inspire you?

Listening to music, reading, watching good movies or TV shows, visiting art museums, observing the world around me on a walk — anything involving art or the world inspires me. And the simple act of writing, composing, or drawing can inspire me. Just turning on the spigot for the faucet can be enough sometimes.

 2. If you could go anywhere in the world for free, where would you go?

Africa, China, India, Japan (again), Egypt, Tahiti, New Zealand, the Caribbean Islands — all the exotic places XD. I’d want to vacation, see the aurora borealis, look at traditional architecture and cultural events. I’d go to all the places that my stories take inspiration from.

3. Has a book/movie ever moved you so deeply that you carry a piece of it with you? (You had an epiphany while reading/watching or the theme seemed to encapsulate your life.)

Hmm… I tend not to “carry pieces” of books and movies with me, for some reason. Like, they inspire me to create more art, most of the time and inspire me to live better, but I tend to move on to the next movie or book XD. Though I will say that I carry a little bit of a certain TV show with me everywhere.

It’s called Steven Universe, and the episode that has stayed with me to this day is called “Mindful Education.” The struggles that the characters go through and how they learn about meditation and the nature of thought inspired me to start my own meditation practice. Ever since, I’ve gotten a much better hold on my anxiety and perfectionism. It’s not a cure for it; it’s a practice. It’s a skill that I have to develop.

The Nominees

And now, per the rules, I nominate the following 6 bloggers:

Motivating Giraffe

Cristian Mihai

Jenny Dolfen

The Lazy Writing Buddha (a.k.a. Zen Zone 2016)

Jeff Coleman

Akayama DanJay

The Questions

  1. What’s your go-to creative fuel/snack/drink, if you have one?
  2. If you had a time machine, where would you go and why?
  3. What was the first story/drawing/song/piece of artwork you ever made

The Rules for Nominees

  1. Thank the giver and link their blog to your post.
  2. Answer Caroline’s three original questions as well as the three new questions your nominator has given to you
  3. Choose your 6 favorite bloggers and notify them of their nomination! In your nominees, think of “the light emanating from the stars,” the bloggers who truly touch your soul with their work, the ones that are the light for you – a true Starlight Blogger.
  4. Include the logo of the award in a post or on your blog. Also, never alter the logo, and never change the three original questions.

All totally optional, by the way! No pressure! I know some people don’t like nominations.

Anyway, that’s it from me. See you next Flash Fiction 😉 !

7 thoughts on “Surprise Saturday: The Starlight Blogger Award

  1. Yay! Your soul is like mine: a kid playing dress up. I love that she’s a princess in a tiara. 🙂
    Like you, I’m inspired by a lot of different things. Mostly things with a creative nature. Art, nature, music, and stories…I can’t get enough. 😉
    I tend to be a bit of a perfectionist also. I find yoga to be a wonderful way to relax and let go of the pressure I put on myself. That, and anything from the list above. 🙂
    Thanks so much for doing the award post! Good luck on your dream project. I hope it goes well!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, the soul likes playing dress up and putting in different hats ;P

      I’m thinking I should take up yoga. I hear it’s very much like meditation. Plus, I’m not super flexible XD.

      Good luck on The Hashna Stone, too! Revisions are tedious, but they’re worth it!

      Like

      1. I think I like imagining souls like that. 😀
        I love yoga! It’s a good way to get some movement in your body without straining it. Especially after a long day when the last thing you want to do is push yourself to do a bunch of exercise, and you really need something restorative.
        YouTube has a ton of yoga videos if you want to try it in the comfort of your own home before investing in classes. (I actually only use videos online because it’s easier to find time when I can do it whenever I want.
        I recently found Yoga with Adriene, and I love her! She’s easy to follow and has a video for everything (yoga for headaches, anxiety, to sleep, back pain).
        Here’s her channel if you want to check it out https://www.youtube.com/user/yogawithadriene
        Ok, enough about yoga (can you tell I like it…maybe just a bit 😉 ).
        Thanks! I’m sure we’ll both reach our goals. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

