Surprise Saturday: I’m (Soft-)Launching a Patreon Page!

Hi, everybody! Kaleiyah Prose here.

Or, rather… it’ll be “K. A. Parker” soon.

‘Cause I’m (soft-)launching a Patreon page 😀 !

What’s Patreon?

For those who don’t know, Patreon describes itself as a “a membership platform that makes it easy for creators to get paid.” In other words, it’s the patron-artist model of the Renaissance days given a modern-day face lift, where fans and supporters can pledge a certain amount of money per month or per creation. Patreon also allows you to give additional perks to pledging patrons like access to a special Patron-only feed with sneak-peeks or updates.

My Patreon account is set up on a pledge-per-month basis. I’ll still be posting flash fiction pieces every Friday to this blog, but I’ll also be posting them to my Patreon page. The money pledged will go towards hosting costs for a professional website, cups of tea to keep my writing fingers warm, and anything else I can think of.

And today, I’m opening the page for its soft-launch.

What’s a “Soft Launch”?

Let’s say you want to open a new restaurant. You can launch it in either one of two ways.

The first is as a “hard launch,” wherein you hit the ground running. You open your restaurant, and come what may, you take it on. You dive into the ocean and swim with the sharks, making adjustments as you go.

On the other hand, there’s what’s called a “soft launch,” wherein you might technically open the restaurant, but there might not be certain items available to order. The staff might also not be fully trained at the time the business opens, but they are still getting training and experience while the business is in its soft-open state. It’s like swimming in a pool’s shallow end before going into the deep end.

So, as I’ve mentioned before, my Patreon page is open for its “soft launch.” Although it’s officially been online for awhile, I still think it needs a little more tweaking and feedback before it can be a full-powered machine.

Which is why, dear readers, I’d like to ask for your help.

 

 

Feedback and Comments

I know I’ve been talking about Patreon a lot, but Patreon is not about me. It’s not about artists making money. I mean, it sort of is, but it’s not what it’s all about.

It’s about artists getting paid to do what they love by the people who love what they do. It’s about us — the collective. And I want to be sure that you, dear readers, get the chance to be included in the process of making my page the best that it can be — especially if you like the work that I do or want to support me.

So, if you would like to take part in helping my page get better, please send me an email at kaleiyahprose@gmail.com with the subject “Patreon Page Beta Viewer” saying that you would like to help, and I will send you a link to the my Patreon page along with instructions for critiquing it. I promise that I will listen to every comment, criticism, and observation that you make. Your opinions are important to me as I take the next steps on my journey to become a master storyteller.

I will use your comments and critiques for the “official launch” on August 26, 2017, but if you decide to pledge before then and find nothing wrong with the page, I thank you from the bottom of my heart.

Wait. What About Monday Musings and Writing Wednesdays?

 

I’ll be posting Monday Musings and Writing Wednesdays Posts until Friday, August 25, 2017. But after that, I won’t be posting any Monday Musings or Writing Wednesday type posts. Although I enjoyed writing them, I’ve decided that in order to test out my Patreon page to its fullest capacity, I need to focus more on my art. If I have anything interesting to tell you guys, I’ll let you know in a Surprise Saturday post or something like that.

 

But yeah. Going to be focusing on my art a lot more. If you don’t like that, sorry-not-sorry.

But until then, that’s it from me. Thank you so much if you decide to email me and help me with my soft launch. See you on the next post 🙂

 

3 thoughts on “Surprise Saturday: I’m (Soft-)Launching a Patreon Page!

  1. How exciting! I have a Patreon page. I did it for the book I’m writing. I’m not sure I know what I’m doing though. I didn’t have a lot of success, and I kind of forgot about it. 😀
    Good luck with yours!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you!

